Stitch Fix #1 – August 2015

If you haven’t heard of or used the styling service, Stitch Fix, you should keep reading! It’s a blast!

How does it work?

You go to Stitchfix.com, sign up for an account and fill out a style profile. This profile is incredibly detailed, and asks you everything about your size, weight, how you like clothing to fit various parts of your body, etc. They even have a section with photos of different types of styles that you rate by how much you like them. You can also link to your Pinterest style board or other photos to give them an idea of your favorite pieces. They really want to get an accurate idea of what you love and what you don’t, so that they can send you pieces you will like. Then, at the bottom, you can add a more detailed personal note with things like, “My favorite store is Banana Republic.” “I like more feminine, floral pieces,” “I don’t like scoop necks,” or “Don’t send me shorts,” etc. In addition to some basic info about my style, I noted on there that I’m a nursing mom, so I can’t wear fitted, tailored tops or one piece dresses without zippers, etc (They listened! Everything I received was nursing friendly!).

Then, after filling out your profile, you schedule your first FIX! You can add a note about what you’re looking for in that particular fix (like a blouse, shorts, etc), and then you wait.  They will send you a notification when your fix ships, and will collect the $20 for the styling fee.  Your 5 items are delivered to your doorstep, complete with a personal note from your stylist and a style guide giving you ideas for pieces to pair with your fix.

Try on the 5 items in the comfort of your own home, mixing and matching with your wardrobe, keep what you want, and send back what doesn’t work within three days. If you keep anything, your $20 styling fee is applied to your order, so the service is essentially free. If you keep all 5 items, you get 25% off your entire order, making the prices really reasonable for what you get. The items are more expensive than what you would find on the sale rack, or in cheaper stores like Old Navy. But the items I received seem to be more well made, and the fabric was higher quality. Plus! No trying on clothing in the dressing room while your toddler tries to climb under the door. Huge plus, just there. 🙂

But on to my review!

Back in the Spring, right when I began building my first capsule wardrobe, I started hearing things about this service that picked out 5 unique items just for you and sent them right to your doorstep! I was intrigued, so I decided to look into it. I had already pulled together most of my wardrobe by the time I signed up for my first fix, and the first date available for a fix to be delivered was almost a month out. No problem. I could wait.

However, before it shipped, I had found everything I wanted for my Summer capsule, and decided it would be unwise to buy anything else at the time. So I decided to wait for Fall’s capsule before I scheduled my next Fix. But I couldn’t stop thinking about it, and throughout the Spring and Summer, I saw various friends trying out Stitch Fix and really enjoying it. I got so antsy waiting for August (when I would begin to build my Fall capsule wardrobe), and my next opportunity to schedule a fix.

The calendar hit August, and halfway through, I logged in and scheduled my FIRST official FIX. It was supposed to arrive on the 24th, but shipped early. I watched the tracking like a hawk, and was thrilled to see that it would be here on the 21st instead! Three days early! It felt so much like the childhood excitement of Christmas morning; I couldn’t wait to see what my stylist had chosen for me.

I had asked my stylist for Fall neutrals, things that would work well in a capsule wardrobe. I specifically requested some tops, maybe a sweater and a fall dress. When I opened my box I found a note from my stylist, a styling guide for the items included, and these beautiful colors and textures:

IMG_7931

DSC_0825 (2)

My first item was the Octavia Window Scarf. I was in love. It was exactly what I was looking for: Neutral, versatile and INTERESTING. I loved how the simple pattern made it more interesting than a basic gray, but didn’t make it too busy to coordinate with almost everything in my Fall Capsule. It was also the softest scarf I have ever put on in my life. It was between 80 and 90 degrees the day my fix came, and I didn’t take the scarf off for hours. I have also worn it with the ends tied to make it into an infinity scarf, and it works perfectly that way as well. Verdict: KEPT!!

Second in my Fix was the Gil Plaid Dress. It fit me well (just a teensy bit big), and the A-line is just my style. But I felt like it made me look young. Plus, it reminded me of a Catholic school girl uniform, and I couldn’t get over that association no matter how hard I tried. My husband and Mom loved it, but… Verdict: Sent Back

DSC_0855

Third was the Sawyer Space Dye Dolman Sleeve Top. I absolutely loved the color. I liked the fact that there was a bit of a pattern to it, making it versatile, yet unique. It was incredibly soft and comfortable, and I ALMOST kept it. But it was a slouchier style which isn’t quite me, and I had just purchased a couple sweaters I liked better. So I couldn’t justify the price. It’s actually a little askew in the photo, and I preferred it even more in person. Verdict: Sent Back

DSC_0835 (2)

Fourth was the Finch Floral and Dot Print Tab-Sleeve Blouse. This was close. I felt like my stylist understood me (and how much I LOVE blouses), plus she stuck to the neutral color scheme I wanted, but the off white color in the pattern wasn’t my absolute favorite. And it was on the pricier side. Verdict: Sent Back

DSC_0826 (2)

Finally was the 41Hawthorn Abrianna Long Sleeve Knit Cardigan in Navy. Boring and simple, but this one was a perfect basic. Long enough to cover my butt, nice enough to go over dresses, and casual enough to wear with everything else. I debated about this one for several days, but decided to keep it. And I’m glad I did! I have already worn it *several* times. Verdict: Kept!

So that’s my fix for my Fall capsule! I have another one scheduled to come in November, for my birthday, because I will need to add a few COLD weather pieces to closet for my winter capsule. And it was just such fun. Even if I hadn’t kept anything and had lost my $20, the anticipation and surprise of it would’ve been worth every penny. Try it for yourself by clicking the Stitch Fix link above, or clicking on my referral link here! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

4 thoughts on “Stitch Fix #1 – August 2015

  1. I loved your fix! I had to laugh at the ‘Catholic school uniform’ reference! I attended 16 years of Catholic school and remember those uniforms all too well! The scarf they sent you is amazing! Question for you; can you show a tutorial of how you tied it? I have one similar and have always struggled. Thanks!
    Karen

    Like

    • Hey Karen! Thanks so much for your reply! I loved your feedback! And I know! I love the scarf so much! I’m working on a tutorial for how I tied it and will try to post it within the next few days! 😀

      Like

  2. Pingback: Two ways to tie a (non)infinity scarf | Capsule Cricket

  3. Pingback: Stitch Fix #2: A Complete Win! | Capsule Cricket

Leave a Reply

